10 Most Powerful Kings in Nigeria Right Now (No. 2 Can Command Death)

kings in nigeria

Here Are Top 10 Powerful Kings In Nigeria Presently

1. Emir Of Kano

kings in nigeria

The Emir of Kano holds the situation of the top of the Kano Emirate. Shaped in 1805, the kano Emirate appeared after Fulani Jihad when the old Hausa Sultanate of Kano became subject to the Sokoto Caliphate.

Following the demise of Alhaji Dr Ado Abdullahi Bayero who became Emir in 1963 and ruled till his passing on sixth June 2014 when another Emir was appointed.

His Royal Highness Mallam Muhammad Sanusi II was appointed Emir of Kano in 2014. Prior to his rising to the seat, Mallam Muhammad Sanusi II was a fruitful financier and the previous Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

He was later deposed for this present year, 2020 and exiled from Kano for disrespecting the government and not honoring meetings.

In the interim, Aminu Ado Bayero is the new Emir of Kano after Sanusi. Notwithstanding who is on the seat, the Emir of Kano seat is one of the powerful in the country.

2. Alaafin Of Oyo

kings in nigeria

“Iku Baba Yeye”, the ruler who can order demise is the thing that Alaafin Oyo is affectionately brought in the Yoruba Empire.

The history of this throne alone makes it command so much respect amidst others. This throne has fought many Yoruba Battles and won, of course when it comes to spiritual power, Alaafin is always ready.

The current Alaafin of Oyo is Lamidi Olayiwola Adeyemi III, rose the seat in 1970 after he succeeded Alaafin Gbadegesin Ladigbolu II.

3. Sultan Of Sokoto

kings in nigeria

Going back to the time of the British principle in Nigeria, the situation of the Sultan has been held in high regard.

The caliph of Sokoto, privately known as ‘Sarkisian Musulmi,’ had outright force among the rulers in central Sudan.

He was in charge of the administration of Sokoto and exercised total control over the caliphate.

The Sultan is likewise the otherworldly leader of Muslims in Nigeria, a position which additionally adds to his capacity.

The current Sultan is Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar IV, conceived on 24th August 1956, who succeeded his late sibling Muhammadu Maccido who lost his life in the ADC Airline flight 53 flight.

Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar IV is the twentieth Sultan of Sokoto. The progression to the Sultan of the seat depends on family ties and social standing

4. Ooni Of Ife

kings in nigeria

The Ọọ̀ni of Ilé-Ifẹ̀ is the traditional leader of, Ile-Ife in Osun State famously known as the home of Yorubas.

Ile-Ife is an antiquated city in southwest Nigeria, and its seat is presently held by the ruling Ọọ̀ni Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II.

Birthed on seventeenth October 1974, Ọọ̀ni Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II took over from the late Oba Okunade Sijuwade, who kicked the bucket on 28th July 2015.

In October 2915 after the finish of traditional rituals, Ọọ̀ni Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II climbed the seat.

5. Dein Agbor

kings in nigeria

Agbor is an Ibo town in Delta once affiliated with the Benin empire before Benue got conquered by the British.

The Dein Agbor seat was built up by Omini who hailed from Agueri, a city in Delta state. The ruler is otherwise called ‘Eze’ or ‘Obi’.

Sitting on the Dein Agbor seat presently is Benjamin Ikechukwu Kaegborekuzi who climbed the seat at age two. This was because of the sudden death of his predecessor, his father.

Benjamin Ikechukwu Kaegborekuzi in 1981 entered the Guinness Book of Records as the world’s most youthful ruler.

6. Oba Of Benin

kings in nigeria

Oba of Benin is the leader of the Edo individuals and furthermore called the ‘Omo N’Oba’.

He is the custodian of the Edo culture in the state. Oranmiyan, the Benin Empire’s first Oba, made the title of Oba when the title despite everything had ‘Ogiso’ as its name.

The Oba of Benin during the antiquated time held the situation of the Head of State of the Benin Empire.

The present Oba of Benin is the Ewuare II, conceived on twentieth October 1953. He turned into the Oba of Benin on twentieth October 2016. He remains the 40th Oba given the title of Oba of Benin.

The Oba of Benin sometimes dives himself into political issues as he still possesses the power to make some decisions in that territory.

7. Oba of Lagos

kings in nigeria

The Oba of Lagos holds the situation of the customary and sovereign figure in the city of Lagos, perhaps the biggest city in Africa.

The Obas of Lagos all follow their genealogy to Ashipa, a war chief of the Oba of Benin. He got remunerated and got the title of the Oloriogun, the war head, and got an approval to oversee the city of Lagos.

Past leaders of Lagos used the titles of Ologun, Eleko before it at long last got changed to Oba of Lagos. The present Oba of Lagos is Oba Rilwan Akiolu, who succeeded his antecedent in May 2003.

The Oba of Lagos seat doesn’t have any political force, yet government officials despite everything approach him for political counsel.

The king’s power covers all traditional activities in the land.

8. Obi of Onitsha

kings in nigeria

The Obi of Onitsha is related with the conduct of essential aspects of Onitsha’s local affairs.

The succession to the throne is only for the male descendants of the ‘founder of the state,’ Eze Chima. The people regard his descendants as ‘Umuezechima’ or children of Eze Chima.

The Obi is regularly called Igwe or sky and some more. Usually referred to as semi-divine, he remains the embodiment of the spirit of the ancestral God.

The Obi of Onitsha while being the conventional leader of Onitsha is additionally viewed as a delegate of the Igbo individuals.

At present sitting on the Obi of Onitsha seat is Igwe Nnayelugo Alfred Nnaemeka Achebe. His power sometimes covers a reasonable aspect of the whole Igbo ethnic but retains absolute control within the locality of Onitsha in Anambra state.

9. Olubadan Of Ibadan

kings in nigeria

Olubadan of Ibadan is the illustrious title of the ruler of Ibadan land in Nigeria.

The title implies the ruler of Ibadan. Two decision families exist to the seat of the Olubadan, the Egbe Agba(civil), and Balogun (military).

The kingmakers choose the new king from any of these families on a rotational basis to ascend the throne upon the death of the monarch.

The eleven chiefs that form the Olubadan-in-council are the traditional head of each of the eleven local governments in Ibadan land.

The present Olubadan is Oba Saliu Adetunji, who climbed the seat in 2016.

10. Olu of Warri

kings in nigeria

This list of the most powerful kings in Nigeria would be incomplete without mentioning the Olu of Warri.

The Warri kingdom is a piece of the customary state in the town of Warri in Delta State, Nigeria. As per the Bini and the itsekiri, a ruler of Benin established the Iwerre(Warri) kimgdom.

The Olu of Warri remains the head of the itsekiri people . The kingdom of Warri has remained predominantly Christian since the rising of the first Christian King Sebastian I ‘Lord Oba Atorongboye’ in 1570.

The present Olu of Warri is Godfrey Ikenwoli Emiko ‘Ikenwoli I’, who climbed the seat on the twelfth December 2015.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here